Southern, KY Family Home Providers

Whitney- Ferguson, KY

Hello, my name is Whitney! I am 28 years old with 3 children. I have been in the caregiver field since October 2015. I’ve tried other fields but I’m always drawn back to this one, providing care for people really is a passion of mine. I have a friend in the field and, my family (who are also caregivers) is very involved and active with their clients. We love to do crafts, go swimming, go on hikes, have family cook outs, and go to the parks, aquariums, and zoos. Of course not since COVID-19, we’ve had to get creative at home due to social distancing guidelines. Our family motto is to treat everybody the way we would like to be treated. We would love to expand our family, while giving someone else a loving home.

Donna - Lily, KY

Hi, my name is Donna. I have been a caregiver all of my life in various capacities. After working in staffed residences for over 10 years, I chose to open my home and share my life with people who have disabilities. I felt I could make a greater impact on their health, enjoyment and overall quality of life by becoming an FHP. I am extremely family oriented and enjoy caring for my grandchildren during the day while my folks attend their day training programs, then I spend my evening enjoying life with them.

Beverly-McKee, KY

Hello, my name is Beverly. I have provided direct care services for over 10 years. I was also a foster parent for 4 years. It makes me happy to know that I can help others along the way, and I take pride in doing so. I am very laid back and outgoing. I enjoy being outdoors and traveling to places like the beach, Gatlinburg, parks and lakes! I also enjoy eating out, shopping and going to the movies! I am a mother of three grown kids, but I live alone! I am extremely excited about being a FHP and adding to my family!

Dana-Rockholds, KY

My name is Dana, and I have been a caregiver for 3 years.I joined Life Works as a Family Home Provider in March of 2021. I am married and have 2 children; a 4 year old girl and a 1 year old boy. As a family we enjoy all things outdoors. We love to travel and spend as much time outdoors as we can.We enjoy being around other family and friends.I enjoy working for and helping others with their everyday life needs!

Josh-Somerset, KY

Hi! My name is Joshua, I am 25, and I have been a caregiver for 7 years. I started working with within the SCL waiver the same year that I graduated high school, and haven’t thought about doing anything else since! I’ve had a wonderful time throughout the years and it is so very rewarding. However, I felt as though I was meant for more than 8 hour days. I decided to apply to be a Family Home Provider in 2018 and never looked back! I’ve had a handful of long term placements, and most of my friends and family have all been an active part of our day to day life. COVID changed things a bit, but we always find things to do! My brother, Matt and his wife, Kirsten, live with us. They have also been in the field for 6 years, and are happy to be intertwined with us! They participate in 1:1 activities with everyone in the home. My mom is also very involved We have cookouts together, take trips to the lake, go hiking, family dinners, game nights, movie nights, you name it! We really enjoy doing things together and having everyone involved. Family is the most important thing to us, and we want nothing more than for everyone to feel loved and accepted. Just be yourself!

Donna-Somerset, KY

My name is Donna. I have lived in Somerset my entire life. My husband and I have been married for 39 years.I have two children 37 and 22, and I have two grandchildren.I love to be outdoors working in the yard. My favorite thing to do is go camping. I have a restaurant newsletter that I publish called Coffee News. With the pandemic it has been put on hold for over a year now. My jobs have always related to retail and sales. I have always enjoyed helping people so I worked an additional job with my paper.I worked at Oakwood as a caregiver for adults with disabilities. That was a very rewarding experience. After leaving Oakwood, I continued being a caregiver as an aide helping the elderly. With the experiences that I have accumulated over the years, I decided to become a family home provider.

Tabitha & Don-Whitley City, KY

Hi we are Tabitha and Don! We live in McCreary County with roughly 27 acres to explore. We have been married for 11years with two little boys, ages 11 and 8. Don is an equipment operator at Hinkle and Tabitha has been a licensed practical nurse (LPN) for nearly 10years and is currently in school full time to finish her RN BSN. We are an active family! We enjoy anything outdoors (hunting, fishing, hiking, camping), traveling, and going to the gym. We have an outside dog and one inside cat. We currently have one participant living with us and are looking for another to complete our family.

Lori-Somerset, KY

My name is Lori and I live with my significant other,Paul. We have one dog and one cat who we love very much. I have been a caregiver for about 15 years.We love spending time with our family, boating, going to festivals, going to the local fair, going to flea markets and attending local and surrounding area community events. We really like to be very active in the community. We currently have one participant living in our home and we can’t wait to add more to our family.

Sherry-Somerset, KY

Hi, my name is Sherry and I live in the Lake Cumberland area. I have two daughters, Brooke and Cheyenne. Brooke is a registered nurse and works in behavioral healthcare. Cheyenne is a certified nursing assistant and works in behavioral health as well. I myself have been a certified nursing assistant since 2004 and have been in behavioral healthcare for 4 years. I have three grandchildren and they are my heart. I had a calling a couple of years ago to be a family home provider and the rest is history. I wanted to share the happiness that my family has with someone else. My current client and I live a healthy lifestyle and enjoy working out at the local gym. We also enjoy cooking and baking healthy foods. We love shopping local and looking at all the handmade jewelry. And we love our Lifetime movies and reading a good book.

Stacey-Somerset, KY

My name is Stacey. I have been a foster/adoptive mother for many years. I have provided FHP services for about 2 years now. I love spending time with my family, being outdoors, traveling and going on adventures with my foster children and my current client. My family is very active in church and we love serving others. We treat everyone in our home like they are family.

Amber & Chet-Somerset, KY

Hey there! I’m Amber and in the picture is my husband of eight years, Chet and our two daughters, River (7) and Briar (5).
As someone who grew up around people with disabilities, it always seemed second nature to work within that community. It wasn’t long before Chet followed suit. In the spring of 2016, our family was provided the wonderful opportunity to be FHPs and since then we haven’t looked back. We strive hard to provide a loving and safe home and include whoever lives with us just like they’re family. Because they are! Many of our family and friends are around, too and enjoy getting to know and do things with those we support.
With two little girls, we stay fairly active but we also enjoy our time at home. Our family loves playing games, watching movies, taking mini road trips, going out to eat, and being outdoors. As well as being involved with local events in our community, we also try to find ways on giving back through volunteering from time to time.
For nearly a year, we have had a gentleman living with us who our girls look at like an older brother. He’s blended in wonderfully and we are fortunate to have been given this opportunity with him. At some point, our family of five would love to add another person to it.